Chapter Three: Occupy Space

I’ve always considered myself to be an introvert. Over the years I’ve adapted to the term ambivert because I’ve never fully gone over to the other side of the spectrum. Only when I’m with close knit friends and family am I over the top and mistaken as an extrovert. 

Tuesday night I attended a great event. The beautiful ladies of Party Noire came out and partnered with Open TV Tonight to throw one of the smoothest events I’ve attended in quite some time. It was all about #BlackJoy and being comfortable in spaces to express yourself. To be you, unapologetically. 

The feels!

They put together a great mini documentary that perfectly portrayed who they are and why they do what they do. The amount of brilliance, happiness, peace, positive energy, and hope in the room full of POC and Queer people was… incredible. 

Occupy space. 

One person asked how do you create and occupy the space to be yourself like that of Party Noire. 

The answer was simple. If you have a hand full of friends, ask them to invite a handful of friends and so forth. Use the space you have- your living room, basement, backyard- with like-minded people to evoke those feelings and energies. 

Occupy space. 

I attended this function alone. I was quite unsure of myself. I was unsure of how to occupy space in that space. I find that in these cases I attempt to make myself small. Instead of occupying whatever space my body and energy feels it needs, I take from whatever space it already has. 

Occupy space. 

Had I allowed myself to completely relax and not worry about space, I would have enjoyed the event even more. 

Don’t fight the space your body and spirit naturally occupies. Because by the end of the event or day you’ll find that you’re physically tense and angrily trying to unfold yourself. 

Don’t put yourself in tight spaces. Occupy space. 

I could give up. I could say, hey I went and  it was great. Even afterwards I found myself wishing I had allowed myself to be. I longed for a do over and even talked myself out of future events. 

I’m an ambivert and I don’t know how to occupy space. But I’m learning. I needed this to learn. So as I expose myself to different situations and people, each time I will get better at being. 

Occupy space. You’re growing in so many ways, in so many directions. You need to allow your body and spirit to do what they want. 

Leave a Reply

