Chapter Two: “Stoop Kid’s Afraid to Leave His Stoop.”

When I came up with this title I had no idea how much it resonated with me. For years I was working a job that was supposed to last long enough for me to find something “real,” meaning a career. 

Three entire years. 

I had tried to quit several times. I even picked up a second job hoping it would turn into a full-time position. But I did that with no luck. 

Three entire years. 

I hardly thought about moving up because I didn’t want to be there. I learned all the things that outlined my position as we well as those higher up than me. I learned policies and procedures. I worked in high stress situations with a calm head. I found solutions to problems and suggested improvements. I even transferred locations and began to adjust all while getting in the groove of achieving everything I had achieved at my last location. 

Two years in and I realized how valuable I was and began talks about a promotion. 

—Don’t wait too long to realize how valuable you are or how much potential you have and want to invest in leveling up. 

The promotion never came. After being overlooked countless times for something I felt I deserved and worked hard for, I had the final realization of, “Lol I don’t even want to be here.”

I, however, realized I was stuck. I had been working at this job for three years. This was how I met most of my friends. I had found a groove in how I worked. In many ways, this job helped shape certain parts of what makes me who I am. 

But I was over it. 

So I put in my notice. I had decided that if I wanted something different I had to make room for it. I thought, if I stayed different wouldn’t come. But if it did I would continue to be comfortable and let it pass me by. 

It’s been roughly two weeks since my last day and I am pleased, excited even, to say that different has come along. I landed a job doing something I’ve always wanted to do. While some aspects aren’t super great, I think back to three years ago when I didn’t have this opportunity. I think back to two years ago, or even one. I think about how, had I stayed and counted to wait I would have passed this new opportunity up. 

Be afraid of different, better, and new. But don’t be so afraid that you close yourself off to it. Think about what you want to achieve and what’s stopping you. Move that mountain! Cross that road! 

Don’t be afraid to leave your stoop. You just might find the very thing you’ve been looking and waiting for.

Leave a Reply

