Chapter One: Uprooted

Sometimes you have to be yanked out of your current situation and placed into another.  Sometimes this different place can be familiar, other times not.

The goal is to learn.  Take what you learned in your previous position and apply it to the new one.  You cannot keep growing if you do not keep learning.  Ask questions.  Think!  Don’t be afraid to sound crazy or weird.

Most of my life was lived inside a bubble.  After I graduated college I gave in to the unwavering urge to get out and live.  I left behind everything and went a journey.  For two years I forsake everything I thought I knew for things that I was open to learn.  There were a lot of ups and downs.  There were a lot of times I wondered what the next step was, or even if there was a next step.  

When I finally came home, everything was familiar and strange all at the same time.  I was lost in a city I once knew like the back of my hand.  I was literally lost.  I got off the train and didn’t know which direction was which.  Nothing looked the same.  The air smelled differently.  

But I kept going.

I figured out where I was headed and things started to look more and more familiar.  

The lesson is that there is mystery even in the parts of life you think you know most.  There are other dimensions.  Other passions.  Other paths to pursue.  You’re going to freak out every once in a while.  You may ask yourself how you got here and where to go next.  But adventures are funny.  When you allow yourself to experience and learn, you allow yourself to be open to endless possibilities.  When you allow yourself to freak out and continuously cling to what once was, you put yourself in a box, limiting what you can do and where you can go.

I’m not saying its all perfect.  It’s almost been a year and sometimes I think I’ve made more mistakes than progress.  But I’ve finally learned to accept the journey for what is instead of making it something it should never be.

Have you ever been on a roller coaster?  That initial fear when you finally get strapped into the seat before take off is insane.  You’re wondering what you’ve gotten yourself into.  You’re contemplating jumping off before the ride starts.  

But then it zooms off.

You’re scared.  As you reach the first twist you grab on for dear life.  When you approach the first drop your heart seems like it will jump out of your chest.  The anticipation is almost crippling.  You’re staring ahead of you wondering if you should look.  If you should keep your eyes open.  Even wondering if this is the end.

But then you drop and you’re essentially weightless.  You’re headed toward the ground and just before you hit the ground, the ride swoops back up, taking you to another loop.

That’s life.  Choose to live it with your eyes open.  Choose to acknowledge the drops when they come, but hold on to the security of knowing that it won’t be the end.  Make those twists and turns something of a sport.  Let’s see just how flexible you are-mentally and emotionally.  How much did you learn from the last twist that applies to this current turn?

Yet always, always remember…

Be gentle with yourself along the way.  You will mess up.  You will fall.  But you will get back up stronger than you were before. 

Leave a Reply

